Shootout Leica vs. Panasonic: The Duel I Never Thought I'd Make

11GTCS

Mu-43 Veteran
It's been about 6 months since I sold my D750 and went down the MFT rabbit hole. MFT is an amazing format and I deeply enjoy the portability it offers. The problem I've run into is that once you get into even close to higher end bodies a la GX9/EM1 (what I've shot) and some of the faster lenses, the size advantage rapidly disappears for street shooting. Perhaps not vs a DSLR, but certainly vs one of the more well known street cameras out there: Leica.

I've wanted a Leica forever. It's genetic, my grandfather owned a camera store and was a Leica fanatic (though he never did get them to make him a dealer), and my earliest memories are of sitting in the back with him while he fixed cameras. I have little doubt a big reason why I'm an engineer today is those sessions staring in wonder at all the beautiful timing mechanisms of older film cameras. This intersects with my issues with MFT premium body bloat as I get ready to defend my master's thesis and was wondering what to get to celebrate. I ended up picking up an M typ 240 body from a working pro for a bargain, it's heavily brassed but well taken care of, and I didn't care about the cosmetic condition. I couldn't afford any actual Leica glass (in time!), so I snagged a pair of Zeiss ZM lenses, a Biogon 35/2.8 and Planar 50/2. The Biogon and body came today, so I figured I'd make the first post in what will be an extended shootout between my GX9 (till I sell that) and GM1 vs the Leica.

1582054122805.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

My new M type 240. Leica is one of the few camera brands that looks even better the more worn the camera is!